What Are Your Rights After a Rideshare Accident?
By Team at Zimmet & Zimmet, In Personal injury
Car accident attorneys at Zimmet & Zimmet understand how confused and overwhelmed you may feel after being involved in a collision. You may have been injured and unsure of your next steps. However, to ensure your rights are protected, it’s important to know what they are.
In the state of Florida, there are currently over 100,000 Uber drivers. This doesn’t even account for Lyft drivers or the other smaller rideshare services in the local areas. Millions of people use rideshare services across the country as a convenient way to get where they need to go. However, accidents are bound to happen with so many drivers on the road and people using these services.
Do you know your rights if you are in an accident while in an Uber or Lyft? What about if you are driving another car and have an accident with a rideshare driver?
Keep reading to find the answers to these questions and more related to car accidents with rideshare services like Uber and Lyft. Knowing your rights will ensure you take steps to protect them if you ever find yourself in this situation.
The Rideshare Company May Cover Your Damages and Injuries
The law requires that rideshare companies, such as Lyft and Uber, carry liability insurance. This coverage includes property damage and bodily injuries.
Uber carries a $1 million liability insurance policy for all eligible passengers, bicyclists, motorcycle riders, pedestrians, and other motorists. In most cases, this $1 million insurance coverage will only apply if the Uber driver is using the app and has passengers in their vehicle.
If the Uber driver is using the app but doesn’t have passengers, their personal auto insurance and company policy will likely cover you. If you’re involved in an accident with an Uber driver while they use their vehicle for personal reasons, not using the app, and not carrying any passengers, then only the driver’s personal insurance coverage will be used.
Lyft has similar insurance coverage and works the same way as Uber.
Florida Liability Law for Rideshare Accidents
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. All drivers must have personal injury protection (PIP) and liability coverage. “No-fault” means that the initial $10,000 in medical costs related to the accident will be paid by the accident victim’s personal insurance coverage.
While this is the case, there are exceptions to the rule if you are insured and licensed in Florida and injured as a rideshare passenger. The fact is that liability laws in Florida are complex. It’s important to know your rights, including if you have the right to recover compensation in a rideshare accident. You can speak to our personal injury lawyer to discuss your rights and options to recover compensation.
Compensation for Rideshare Accident Victims
There’s no question that accidents involving rideshare vehicles can be serious. Depending on the injuries that you experience, you may require ongoing treatment or surgery. If you can’t work during this time, you may have significant medical bills and other accident-related costs to handle. With no income, it can make the entire situation extremely stressful.
Rideshare accidents, just like other car accidents, are usually the result of driver negligence. Negligence occurs if someone doesn’t show the level of care necessary to keep others from unreasonable harm. An example would be if your rideshare driver were texting while driving or trying to secure their next passenger. In this case, the driver’s negligence would be the cause of the rideshare collision.
No matter the cause of the accident, if the rideshare driver fails to provide the expected duty of care, they will be responsible for the resulting collision. It will also be their responsibility or the company’s responsibility to compensate you for your injuries and losses.
How Do You Prove Negligence in Florida Rideshare Accidents?
Do you believe your rideshare driver acted negligently, which led to your accident? If so, it’s up to you to prove this. Along with showing the driver owed you a duty of care, you must also prove it was breached and you experienced injuries because of the breach. It’s also necessary to provide proof that the driver’s negligence resulted in you having compensatory damages.
It’s important to gather evidence that proves your case. Our car accident lawyer can help collect evidence and ensure you have the needed proof.
Types of Damages You Can Recover in a Florida Rideshare Accident
Like other car accidents in Florida, there are several types of damages you may be able to recover if you are the victim of a rideshare accident. These include (but aren’t limited to):
- Ambulance services
- Emergency room care
- Other medical costs (medical equipment, prescription drugs, tests, and more)
- Pain and suffering
- Lifecare costs
- Permanent or temporary disability
- Lost pay
Each rideshare accident is unique. Because of this, each person’s injuries and expenses will be unique to their situation. As rideshare accident attorneys in Florida, we will work to help ensure that the reckless and at-fault driver is held accountable for their actions.
Ways to Recover Damages After a Florida Rideshare Accident
It’s not a good idea to try to handle the at-fault party’s insurance representative alone. This is true whether you file a claim against the rideshare company’s liability coverage or the driver’s personal auto insurance coverage.
Because of how challenging these laws and situations can be, it’s recommended that rideshare accident victims get in touch with a car accident attorney from Zimmet & Zimmet immediately. We offer clients a free, no-obligation initial consultation to discuss their case and claim. If you choose to hire us, we work on a contingency fee basis, which means we are only paid if your case is successful.
Our personal injury lawyer will assess your damages, injuries, and expected recovery to create a detailed claim for your rideshare accident. We will often take these steps to help strengthen your claim, too:
- Review the accident report filed by the police
- Review witness statements
- Request the rideshare driver’s driving, training, and safety records
- Communicate with the at-fault party’s insurance adjuster
- View videos, photos, and other evidence taken at the scene of the accident
- Negotiate the maximum amount you are entitled to receive
Why Partnering with Our Car Accident Attorney Makes Sense After a Florida Rideshare Accident
Trying to recover compensation after a rideshare accident isn’t a simple task. However, when you partner with a personal injury lawyer from our firm, they will manage all potential complications and challenges that arise.
If you don’t have legal assistance, some of the challenges you may face include:
- Having your claim denied. Insurance companies for rideshare services may deny liability to get you to drop the case and cover your own losses.
- Delay your claim. Once you file your claim, you should get an answer quickly. If you don’t, the insurance company is likely delaying your case, hoping you will drop it.
- A low settlement offer. After a rideshare accident, you deserve compensation for all your injury-related losses. However, the insurance company may offer you much less than you deserve.
With help from our legal team, you can feel confident that you have someone looking out for your rights. Our goal is to help you get the compensation you deserve for your injuries and losses in the rideshare accident.
The first step in pursuing a legal claim against a rideshare company after a car accident is to contact us. We are ready to review the facts of your case and begin gathering evidence to help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us
Can I Sue for My Injury? Understanding Negligence in a Personal Injury Case
5 Tactics the Insurance Companies Use to Get You to Settle