Proudly serving the State of Florida since 1985

Call for a Free Consultation 386-255-6400

The Most Common Myths About Personal Injury Lawsuits in Florida

The Most Common Myths About Personal Injury Lawsuits in Florida

By Team at Zimmet & Zimmet, In Personal injury, 0 Comments

There are some people who have a strong claim for financial compensation in a personal injury lawsuit in Florida who are reluctant to pursue this possibility. One of the main reasons for this is all the myths and misconceptions “out there” about the process.

While one of the best things you can do when pursuing a personal injury claim in Florida is to consult with an attorney. They can review the circumstances and facts related to your situation and help you determine if you have a case worth pursuing. All this information is typically provided at no charge to you.

However, there are still many people who may be hesitant to move forward with their case. If you feel this way, learn more about some of the most common myths and misconceptions related to personal injury cases here.

Myth: It’s Expensive to Pursue a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Florida

Modern personal injury attorneys work on a contingency fee basis. This means you don’t pay your attorney unless and until your case is successful. All these terms will be clearly outlined in the contract you sign with the attorney you hire.

A percentage of the award you recover will be paid to your attorney. While there are some statutory rules in Florida that define what is “excessive” to pay an attorney, for the most part, you can expect to pay between 15 percent and 33.5 percent of the award you receive.

Also, the initial consultation is free, so you don’t lose anything just by talking to a lawyer.

Myth: You Can Only File a Personal Injury Lawsuit if You Have Suffered a Serious Injury

While there are some injury cases that have something referred to as the “serious injury threshold,” these will only apply to specific cases and specific types of damages. You may be due compensation from your insurer if you have suffered minor injuries, and your lawyer will help you understand if you have received an offer that is too low for the injuries you suffered.

Your case may be worth up to $10K in PIP (personal injury protection) coverage for your lost wages, medical costs, and an array of other damages.

Myth: You are Punishing the Person Deemed Negligent

Most personal injury claims and settlements are paid by an insurance company. This is true for car accidents, premises liability claims, dog bite injuries, and more. Usually, it is paid by the insurance company used by the negligent individual. If that person didn’t have insurance or if they don’t have enough insurance to cover the cost of your claim, you may have the right to pursue a claim with your insurance company. This is something else an attorney can help you with.

Hire a Personal Injury Attorney to Learn More

As you can see, there are several myths and misconceptions related to personal injury cases. If you have been injured because of someone else’s negligence or wrongful act, you can file a personal injury claim. To learn more, contact Zimmet & Zimmet Lawyers by calling (386) 255-6400.

ADA Disclaimer:
Destinie Law is in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and all applicable website standards including WCAG 2.0. It does not discriminate on the basis of disability. If you have any issues observing the content of this website, please contact us. Upon request, reasonable accommodations will be made.

Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved.